EDM All Day

Dexter's Beat Laboratory Vol. 95

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory is a weekly collection of songs from DA managing editor Robyn Dexter. With a taste that can only be described as eclectic — to say nothing of a name that lends itself to punnery — DA is happy to present a selection of tracks personally curated by Dexter for your listening pleasure.

Listen in playlist format here.

Who would’ve thought Bring Me The Horizon and Sub Focus were a match made in heaven? The English drum ‘n’ bass producer has truly worked his magic on this subtle January release from the rock band, meticulously maintaining its delicate aspects while sprinkling in more intense drum ‘n’ bass elements. The beauty of this remix is that it doesn’t detract from the brilliance BMTH’s original. Instead, it gives listeners a refreshing new way to digest its intricacies.

Haywyre was the perfect person to tap for an official remix of Martin Garrix‘s “Summer Days.” The pianist brings an effortlessly groovy air to the track, incorporating funk-laden synths during the instrumental-focused sections and gorgeous piano chords to the vocal intervals. Like all Haywyre tunes, it’s impossible to not bob your head or tap your foot on this one. Check him out playing it live here.

In his new two-track EP for Liquicity Records, mystery producer Oakwite shines. “Chlorophyll,” in particular, is full of intrigue. The name for the song is fitting, as the artist appears to convert sunlight into alluring drum ‘n’ bass. The new body of work follows the February release of Oakwite’s bootleg of nothing,nowhere’s “Hammer,” which also proved to be beautifully unique.

London-based drum ‘n’ bass artist Etherwood is fresh off a new six-track release, which contains a graceful tune called “Away From It All.” Featuring a beautiful reoccurring piano melody and drifting vocals, this one instantly transports the listen to a still forest or a scenic vista. If the listener can fully submerge themselves in the sonic landscape Etherwood’s composed, it’s likely they’ll find themselves in a truly blissful state.

Speaking of six-track releases, Pierce Fulton, too, has released a new body of work. Hoarder’s Paradise made its full appearance on Potential Fun on June 14, featuring songs like “The Move.” This four-minute song is an introspective one, carrying with it an almost wistful theme as it ebbs and flows. Throughout the tune, piano melodies build from delicate to more forceful and are backed by a subtle but substantial beat. The journey-like qualities of “The Move” are completely entrancing.

EDM All Day is an online music platform created in 2015 that primarily covers electronic dance music and everything that revolves around its industry.


Due to the growing number of readers, we are looking for passionate bloggers and writers who would like to take part in EDM All Day’s great mission, and offer the latest coverage on the electronic dance music industry.


If you think you are ambitious and motivated to write for us on a voluntary basis, drop us a line at [email protected] as well as some samples of your writing and we’ll get back to you within 48h.